Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Last House On Needless Street by Catriona Ward unnerves!

This Preview Review of the upcoming novel The Last House On Needless Street by Catriona Ward that is being released in the US by TOR on 9/28/2021 is **SPOILER FREE**.

You will never read another book quite like this, and I mean that as one of the highest compliments I can give to a work of fiction.

This is a narrative with the most unreliable of narrators.

The main character, Ted, made me so uncomfortable and unsettled with his mannerisms, I had to grasp for anxiety meds.

His admittedly unreliable and past-present-ever-shifting memory, and his worries over what the neighbors may think of the young girl, Dee, a daughter-like figure – if not blood-related – that is only allowed out at certain times in his boarded up, dilapidated home on the end of the road and the edge of the woods, and the frantic frenzy of internal fear that came through Ted made me cringe steadily as I read on. Catriona Ward, The Last House on Needless Street, tor, horror, thriller

The writing from Ward is truly extraordinary, as the voices she emanates and the world she has built become so real that the tale is utterly enveloping.

Dark fiction has rarely been this bold!

The chapters shift to different characters and their point of view, so Ted is followed by the angry young girl, Dee, who lost her sister years ago, and Olivia, Ted’s cat, who has quite the outspoken and insightful feline personality.


Tor Nightfire’s description of the book:

On Sale: 09/28/2021

ISBN: 9781250812629

352 Pages

Catriona Ward’s The Last House On Needless Street is a shocking and immersive read perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.


Think on that for a minute: the preeminent haunted house of Shirley Jackson combined with thrilling pace and murderous mystery of Flynn’s Gone Girl. WOW!

Make no mistake, The Last House On Needless Street will make you squirm; and the book will make you feverishly turn the pages seeking answers that come in bunches and only make the storyline more complex as more shakily reliable information comes to light.

This is a phenomenal work of writing and a nightmarish-like tsunami of story forcing the reader to pick up the pieces and refit them again and again as the characters feed the frenzy.

 

The Forgotten Fiction Grade: YEA (read it!)


Want To Buy A Book From A Local bookseller? Click Away!

 

“The Last House On Needless Street By Catriona Ward Unnerves” was written by R.J. Huneke.

 

 

The Last House On Needless Street By Catriona Ward Unnerves

by R.J. Huneke time to read: 2 min
0